The Toronto School of Theology (TST) is a consortium of seven member theological colleges, each of which has its own governance.

A corporation has been incorporated under the laws of Ontario to serve the member colleges and to represent them in various matters in relation to the University of Toronto and other bodies. The name of the corporation is also the Toronto School of Theology and the voting members of the corporation are the seven member institutions. The corporation meets annually in October, and elects a Board of Trustees which is the primary instrument of TST’s governance. The Board of Trustees includes representatives of the member institutions, two non-affiliated trustees chosen from the wider community, and University of Toronto representatives. The Board generally meets five times per year.

The Board operates under a By-law which it has established for itself and which it has authority to revise. TST's structures of governance are designed to collaborative and consultative.

The standing committees of the Board of Trustees are:

  • Academic Council
  • Governance Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Audit Committee

The Academic Council is the principal instrument of academic governance, and in most though not all academic matters under its jurisdiction, it has final authority without recourse to the Board. It includes the Principals, Presidents and Deans the member colleges, University representatives, and faculty and student representatives. Standing committees of the Academic Council include: 

  • Graduate Studies Council 
  • Basic Degree Council
  • Library Committee
  • Committee of Registrars

The TST Academic Council has general authority over TST’s graduate degree programs. At the basic degree level (MDiv, MTS, MRE, MAMS, MPS, MSMus) the Academic Council defines certain common standards, policies and procedures, but each member college administers its own basic degree programs.

The Board has created two academic centres, which administer certain academic programs. The centres are resourced primarily by the cross-appointment of faculty members from the TST member colleges, and they are led by academic administrators who are faculty members that have been seconded part-time from their home colleges.

The two centres are:

  • The Graduate Centre of Theological Studies (GCTS)
    This Centre administers the conjoint PhD, ThD, ThM, non-conjoint PhD, and non-conjoint MA programs. (Note: the non-conjoint PhD and MA programs are no longer accepting new students.)  The academic administrator (Director) of the GCTS is Dr. Colleen Shantz of the University of St. Michael's College.
  • The Centre for the Study of Ministry
    This Centre administers the Doctor of Ministry program. The academic administrator (Interim Director) is Dr. Sarah Travis of Knox College. Read more about the Centre here.

The effectiveness of TST’s governance is evaluated every ten years as part of the process of the renewal of TST’s accreditation with Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.