# **Toronto School of Theology Roundtable** CONSTITUTION

#### Ratified November 22, 2016

a. The official name of this body is the Toronto School of Theology Roundtable (TSTRT or "the Roundtable" for short).

## II. Definitions

I. Name

- a. "TST" is the Toronto School of Theology.
- "Colleges" are the seven (7) TST member colleges: Emmanuel College, Knox College, Regis
  College, St. Augustine's Seminary, University of St. Michael's College Faculty of Theology,
  University of Trinity College Faculty of Divinity, and Wycliffe College.
- c. "Student government" is any council, society, committee, or other political body that represents all the basic and/or graduate students at a college or at TST as a whole.
- d. "Student head" is the principal leader or co-leaders of a student government.

## III. Membership

- a. All registered basic degree TST students are members of the Roundtable.
- b. All TST student heads are members of the Roundtable.
- c. Roundtable membership is open to TST graduate students and other members of the University of Toronto community, through a registration system described in the Policies and Procedures.

### IV. Mission

- a. The objective of the Roundtable is to facilitate communication, collaboration, and relationships amongst TST students and colleges for the benefit of student life.
- b. The Roundtable fulfills this objective by:
  - 1. Organizing and advertising inter-college events, or participating in the organization and advertising thereof;
  - Mediating between TST basic degree students and the University of Toronto Students' Union (UTSU);
  - 3. Liaising between basic degree students and TST administration; and
  - 4. Facilitating TST basic degree student access to University of Toronto facilities and services.
- c. The Roundtable will not impinge on the jurisdiction of other student governments by:

- 1. Interfering in the internal operations or politics of any college or student government;
- 2. Advocating for students to their college administrators or student government(s); or
- 3. Advocating for graduate students to TST, the TST Graduate Students' Association (TGSA), the University of Toronto, or any other bodies aside from the UTSU.

#### V. Executive

- a. The Roundtable is governed by an Executive of seven (7) voting members, who are the heads of the student governments at the colleges.
  - 1. A head may appoint another student from their college to attend meetings and vote on their behalf when they cannot.
  - 2. If a college has multiple student governments, the government representing the most basic degree students has precedence.
  - 3. If a government has multiple heads, they will either choose one student to represent their college or share their college's single vote on the Executive.
  - 4. If a government has no student head, the Executive will ask the government to send a student to serve until a new head is chosen.
- b. The Executive will select a Chair, Clerk, and other Officers with duties defined in the Policies and Procedures.
- VI. Elections and Referenda
  - The student heads are chosen according to the bylaws and procedures of their respective student governments. The heads are then ratified as Roundtable Executives at the Annual General Meeting as described below (section VIII.b).
  - b. Procedures for the selection of Roundtable Officers and external committee representatives and for referenda are described in the Policy and Procedures.

#### VII. Finances

- a. The Roundtable will not charge or levy any fees.
- b. The Roundtable may receive funds from TST, the University of Toronto, UTSU, or TST student governments and spend them on events or grants for the benefit of members.
- c. In any year that the Roundtable receives, disburses, or holds any funds, a Treasurer will be appointed, with duties defined in the Policies and Procedures, including the presentation of a financial statement for review at the Annual General Meeting and submission of an approved statement to TST.

VIII. Meetings

- a. The Roundtable will strive to achieve consensus in all its meetings. When consensus is not available, meetings will follow Robert's Rules of Order.
- b. The Roundtable will hold an Annual General Meeting (AGM) in a TST or college building every year between April 15<sup>th</sup> and May 31<sup>st</sup>.
  - The Executive will set the location, date, and time for the AGM and advertise it to members at least one month in advance. The Executive will also choose the chair for the AGM and prepare the agenda.
  - 2. The agenda will include a motion to approve the agenda and a motion to ratify an updated list of incoming student heads as the Roundtable Executive for the coming year. The agenda will also include motions to approve financial statements and/or constitutional amendments, as applicable, as well as time for other motions and questions.
  - 3. Quorum for the AGM is at least twenty (20) members representing at least five (5) of the colleges. Approving any motion at the AGM requires a double majority: the approval of a majority of the members present and the approval of members representing a majority of the colleges (e.g. 4/7).
  - 4. If quorum is not met or the vote to ratify a new Executive fails, the current Executive will continue to serve and call a special General meeting within 60 days.
- c. The Executive may call a special General meeting at any time of year with only two weeks' notice; otherwise, the requirements are the same as for the AGM.
- d. The Roundtable will hold Executive meetings as described in the Policies and Procedures.
  - 1. Quorum for an Executive meeting is a majority of the Executive (4/7).
  - 2. Any motion to request or spend money, appoint an Officer, or call an election or referendum requires the approval of two-thirds of the Executive (5/7).
- IX. Amendments and Enabling Clause
  - a. This Constitution will take effect after the approval of members at a General meeting.
  - b. Subsequent amendments require the approval of members at a General meeting, with the proposed changes distributed to members at least one month in advance.
  - c. Approving this Constitution or any amendments requires quorum as defined above (section VIII.b.3) and a double two-thirds majority: the approval of two-thirds of the members voting and the approval of members representing two-thirds of the colleges (e.g. 5/7).