## Toronto School of Theology Roundtable General Meeting Minutes November 22, 2016 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Jay Boardroom, TST

Present:

Emmanuel BD Students: Andrew Macpherson (Chair),

**Emmanuel Graduate Students**: Allison Murray

Knox BD Students: Charmila Ireland, David McFarlane, Nicholas Metivier

Regis BD Students: Artur Suski

**Regis Graduate Students**: Michael Buttrey, Monica Marcelli, Zane Chan, Beth McCutcheon

St. Michael's Graduate Students: Anthony Spellacy, Benjamin Lujan, Fiona Li

Trinity BD Students: Philip Benmore, Lora Crighton, Brittany Cartwright, Fran Wallace

Trinity Graduate Students: Rebecca Spellacy

Wycliffe BD Students: Orvin Lao, Ted Williams, Matthew Neugebauer

Wycliffe Graduate Students: Aleksander Krogevoll

Other: Alan Hayes – TST/Wycliffe College, Diane Henson – TST (Recording

Secretary)

1. Welcome. Alan Hayes welcomed those present and introduced Andrew Macpherson as the Chair.

**2. Ratification of Toronto School of Theology Roundtable Constitution.** The document *Toronto School of Theology Roundtable*, dated October 18, 2016 was circulated electronically prior to the meeting and hard copies were available at the meeting.

M. Buttrey gave a brief background to the development the Toronto School of Theology Roundtable (TSTRD). There are many kinds of campus organizations that are recognized by UofT, but only two which the roundtable could fall into; *Recognized Groups* or *Student Societies*. In order to minimize the administrative and financial responsibilities of a new Executive and exclude student fees the former has been opted for. M. Buttrey proceeded to review points within the constitution, including how §III Membership, item c. meets the requirements of *Recognized Groups*. A discussion took place with respect to membership, and the roles of the Roundtable and TGSA in relationship to UTSU.

**MOTION:** To amend §IV. b. 2. to "Mediating between TST basic degree students and the University of Toronto Students' Union;" and §IV. b. 4 to "Facilitating TST basic degree student access to University of Toronto facilities and services."

Buttrey/Murray. CARRIED.

**MOTION:** To amend §V. a. 4. to "If a government has no student head, the Executive will ask the government to send a student to serve until a new head is chosen.

McCutcheon/Buttrey. CARRIED.

**MOTION:** To adopt the *Toronto Scholl of Theology Roundtable Constitution* with the above

amendments.

Buttrey/Lujan. CARRIED.

It was noted that the ratification vote met the parameters of §IX. c. of the *Toronto Scholl of Theology Roundtable Constitution*.

## 3. Ratification of Roundtable Executives.

MOTION: To recognize the following heads of TST college student governments as the Executives: Andrew Macpherson (Emmanuel); Charmila Ireland (Knox); Monica Marcellia and Artur Suski (Joint Regis); Favin Alemao and Ryan Alemao (Joint St. Augustine's); Therese Hassan and Benjamin Lujan (Joint St. Michael's); Philip Benmore and Adam Brown (Joint Trinity); Sarah Jackson and Joel Steiner (Joint Wycliffe).

Buttrey/Lujan. CARRIED.

**4. Adjournment.** The meeting adjourned at 2:05 pm.

Cartwright.

