Summary of Governance at the Toronto School of Theology: What is the place of the Academic Council in the nexus of authority at TST?

Updated August 2022

The Toronto School of Theology is a social capital corporation in the Province of Ontario, created by Letters Patent in 1970. Toronto School of Theology is governed by a Board of Trustees, consisting of heads of the seven member colleges, independent trustees, and a representative of the University of Toronto.

TST's member colleges are Emmanuel, Knox, Trinity, Regis, St. Augustine's, St. Michael's, and Wycliffe. Each has its own governing body and system of governance. Each member college is accredited by the Association of Theological School in the United States and Canada.

The University of Toronto was created by an Act of Parliament, the University of Toronto Act, in 1971, amended in 1978. It is governed by the <u>Governing Council</u>.

TST's member colleges *award degrees conjointly* with the University of Toronto. A few member colleges award ecclesiastical degrees by the member college. TST's governance applies to the conjoint degrees.

The TST member colleges and the University of Toronto are accountable to the Ontario Ministry of Colleges and Universities (Ministry). The Ministry has a system of accountability upon which that funding from the Ministry depends.

The primary system of accountability to the Ontario Ministry of Colleges and Universities is "quality assurance." The Ministry delegates its review of colleges and universities to the Ontario Universities Council on Quality Assurance (Ontario Council). Universities must conduct reviews of each division of the university. Under the quality assurance system, TST is treated as if it were a university division because of the conjoint degrees.

In a University of Toronto Quality Assurance Process (UTQAP), every component of the process of degrees and certificates (including the actual design of degrees, the governance and administration of degrees, and the tracking of student process, for example) is examined.

Once a review has been completed (as TST's was in 2021), it is presented to the University of Toronto's Committee on Academic Policy and Programs, of the University of Toronto Governing Council (which happened on October 26, 2021) and then the university presents its report to the Ontario Council. The Ontario Council reports to the Ministry.

In addition to this process, the Ministry also conducts audits of TST's files each year to determine whether we are meeting standards set by the Ministry.

TST represents the seven member colleges in these processes.

The Toronto School of Theology Board of Trustees has five committees that report to it. The Academic Council is responsible for academic policy. The Senior Executive Council (SEC) is responsible for resources: human and, to an extent, financial. The Governance Committee is responsible for governance. Finance is responsible for TST's finances (but not the finances of the member colleges). Audit does the yearly review of TST's business functions. Under TST governance, the TST Board of Trustees creates faculty staff positions; all of the TST faculty staff report to the Board of Trustees, though the Executive Director. Staff implement the policies of the Board of Trustees; its particular job is to ensure that TST and its member colleges are meeting the standards of quality assurance and the Ministry, thereby, securing its place in Ontario's educational system.

The Academic Council of Toronto School of Theology has "delegated authority" from the TST Board of Trustees on academic policy for conjoint degrees awarded between TST's member colleges and the University of Toronto, under the terms of a Memorandum of Agreement. That means that the Academic Council works on behalf of the Board of Trustees in matters of Academic Policy (see entire Academic Council mandate). It is not responsible for resources or governance decisions—though academic policy may require consultation with SEC because resources (such as faculty assignments) are involved, or academic policy may require consultation with Governance (because the governance structure is involved).

The Academic Council has several councils and committees:

The **Basic Degree Council**: All matters regarding conjoint second entry undergraduate (SEUG) degrees must be moved through the Basic Degree Counsel to the Academic Council for final approval.

Two Common Stream committees report through the Basic Degree Council:

- TST Basic Degree Common Stream Committee: Spiritual Care and Psychotherapy Certificate
- TST Basic Degree Common Stream Committee: Master of Theological Studies –
 Spirituality and the Arts Stream

The **Graduate Studies Council**: All matters regarding graduate academic degrees must be moved through the Graduate Studies Council to the Academic Council for final approval.

- The Petitions Committee makes decisions regarding student matters on behalf of the Graduate Studies Council.
- The Appeals Committee hears basic degree appeals of decisions on behalf of the Basic Degree Council.
- The Graduate Centre for Theological Studies (GCTS) administers graduate degrees.

The **Graduate Appointments Committee**: The authority for graduate appointments lies with Graduate Appointments Committee. Graduate appointments are dependent on appointments to the TST faculty. All matters concerning the appointment of graduate faculty are reported directly to the Academic Council.

The **Committee of the Registrars** is a collaborative committee of the Academic Council, though registrarial functions in each member college are administered differently.

The **Library Committee** is a collaborative committee of the Academic Council, though library functions in each member college may be administered differently.