Related Institutions & Organizations

University of Toronto

One of the Toronto School of Theology's (TST) main assets is its proximity to, and association with, the academic community of the University of Toronto. The Memorandum of Agreement between TST and the University of Toronto provides for numerous opportunities for TST students.

Through the Memorandum of Agreement, four graduate degrees offered through TST are awarded conjointly with the University of Toronto. Students who complete conjoint programs are conferred a degree conjointly by the University of Toronto and the student’s TST college. Diplomas bear the signatures of the Chancellor of the University of Toronto, the Head of the TST member college, and the TST Executive Director. TST meets University standards in its faculty appointments and course requirements in its conjoint programs. It also conforms to University policy in its grading policies and procedures and in its academic discipline. TST students have a right of appeal to the University in academic matters.

The diversity of programs, people and courses available in this wider community offers remarkable opportunities to pursue a variety of specialized interests related to the study of theology. With the permission of the faculty, department, institute or centre sponsoring the course, and the approval of the student's own academic advisors, TST students may enroll for credit in University of Toronto courses. Further information is available from the School of Graduate Studies or from the individual department or centre offering the course. TST students also have access to the academic resource of the University of Toronto’s library system.

Centre for the Study of Ministry

The Centre for the Study of Ministry (CSM) is an advisory and coordinating group with responsibilities delegated to it by the Toronto School of Theology Academic Council.

The CSM is chaired by the Doctor of Ministry (DMin) Faculty Assistant and is primarily responsible for recommending policies and regulations, advising TST's Academic Council on DMin-related matters, and participating in the annual quality assurance processes.

The CSM consists of twelve voting members:

  • DMin Faculty Assistant
  • Graduate Directors of the Member Colleges (6)
  • DMin student
  • University of Toronto representative
  • Faculty Member-at-Large
  • GCTS Associate Director of Graduate Programs
  • TST Executive Director

And, non-voting member:

  • TST Registrar and Manager of Academic Services

Learn more about the Doctor of Ministry Program here.

Canadian Association for Spiritual Care

The Canadian Association for Spiritual Care (CASC):

  • is a national multifaith organization committed to the professional education, certification and support of people involved in pastoral care and pastoral counselling;
  • provides educational programs for lay persons and clergy who are preparing to become chaplains, pastoral counsellors, ministers, priests, or community based pastoral care workers;
  • provides education and certification for supervisors and specialists; and
  • is concerned with a holistic approach to health care and personal development with a special focus on spiritual and religious care.

Get more information on the CASC website.